We, the following San Diego leaders, have taken a position in support of our students. We support the right of every San Diego student to receive a high-quality education is a safe, clean and modern classroom setting. Therefore, we support Measure YY. Join us!


  • San Diego Unified Council of PTAs
  • Environmental Health Coalition
  • San Diego County Democratic Party
  • Middle Class Taxpayers Association
  • San Diego Taxpayers' Advocate
  • California Charter Schools Association (CCSA) Advocates
  • San Diego LGBT Community Center
  • Center on Policy Initiatives
  • National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA)
  • Scott Barnett, Past Executive Director, SD County Taxpayers Association
  • Sara Dickman, San Diego Unified Middle School Teacher of the Year, 2018
  • Bill Freeman, San Diego Teacher of the Year, California Teachers Association Delegate
  • Chief Michael Marquez, San Diego Unified Police Department
  • Mel Katz, Business leader
  • Amy Redding, PTA President
  • Community College Trustee Bernie Rhinerson
  • Dr. Martin T. Stein, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, University of California San Diego
  • Dr. Howard Taras, M.D., Pediatrician, Consulting Physician, San Diego Unified
  • David Valladolid, President, Parent Institute for Quality Education (PIQE), Ret.


  • American Federation of Teachers
  • Laborers Local 89
  • San Diego Council of Building Trades
  • Electrical Workers (IBEW)
  • Carpenters
  • Sheet Metal Workers
  • United Food and Commercial Workers


  • US Representative Scott Peters
  • US Representative Juan Vargas


  • Senate President Pro Tempore Toni Atkins
  • Assemblyman Todd Gloria
  • Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez-Fletcher
  • Senator Ben Hueso
  • Assemblywoman Dr. Shirley Weber

San Diego:

  • Board of Education Trustee Richard Barrera
  • Board of Education President Kevin Beiser
  • City Council President Pro Tem Barbara Bry
  • City Council President Myrtle Cole
  • Board of Education Trustee John Lee Evans
  • Nathan Fletcher, Democratic candidate for County Supervisor
  • Community College Trustee Mary Graham
  • City Councilmember Georgette Gomez
  • Board of Education Trustee Michael McQuary
  • City Councilmember Chris Ward
  • Board of Education Vice President Dr. Sharon Whitehurst-Payne